Zomies, March – Remembering Dave “Oderus” Brockie of GWAR

Posted: March 24, 2014 in Music News
Tags: , ,

It would be an understatement to say that I am upset by the latest news regarding the apparent death of GWAR frontman Dave Brockie. I’m sure that there will be people who think good riddance, and there will be others who claim to be devastated without ever actually knowing the man beneath the Oderus costume. Those who truly knew Dave are aware of what his passing truly means to the world.

GWAR are best known for their outlandish costumes and stage shows, but there is more to GWAR than most realize. The music the band performs can be considered to be nonsense or noise to many, however it goes deeper than that. If one listens to the lyrics, some of the songs truly strike a nerve in current events. Nothing would have been possible without Dave Brockie however. GWAR has been his brainchild since it’s inception.

Dave and GWAR have always been more than a band to the fans. I can recall many GWAR shows I attended where I and other fans had the opportunity to meet and talk to the band. As such, they always remembered their fans each and every time, as many of the same fans were always awaiting them.

GWAR and Dave have been a big part of my life from the time I was in Jr. High to the present. Any time that I’ve needed to laugh, I have been able to throw in a GWAR album and my mood instantly changes. Today is a day that it will not bring joy to me, but instead a flood of memories and sadness.

It is with a heavy heart and deep sadness that I say R.I.P. Dave “Oderus” Brockie. You will be missed by a great many fans and friends whose lives you touched over the 30+ year career you enjoyed so much.

Zombies, March

Leave a comment